Metamorphoses International Composition Competition 2010

  • Truslove, Graeme (Recipient)

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)


First Prize: Graeme Truslove - Portals

Métamorphoses Acousmatic Composition Competition, organized by Musiques et Recherches and held in occasion of the 17th International Acousmatic Festival Espace du Son (Marni Theatre, Brussels, the 20th of October 2010) has attributed the following prizes: First prize: Graeme Truslove – Portals Prize of the Public: Erik Nyström – Elemental Chemistry Members of the Jury: Christine Groult, Régis Renouard Larivière, Francis Dhomont Nearly 130 pieces were received for the present edition of the Métamorphoses Composition Competition, applying for prizes in both categories (A - students under 28 years old; B - composers under 50 years old). Jury members for the preselection: Francis Dhomont, Ingrid Drese, Christine Groult, Annette Vande Gorne. The winner of the Category A - students - is : A glass is not a glass - Adam Basanta (Canada) The jury has selected 8 finalists for the Category B prizes - First Prize, Prize from the Public and Prize Musiques et Recherches : The 8 finalists for the Category B are the following : PianoForte - Tseng Yu-Chung (Taiwan) El espejo de Alicia - Federico Schumacher (Chile) Portals - Graeme Truslove (Scotland/UK) De part et d'autre - Julien Guillamat (France) Construct Synthesis Panayiotis Kokoras (Greece) Les barricades mystérieuses - Antonio Ferreira (Portugal) Flohimont - Rudi Giot (Belgium) Elemental chemistry - Erik Nyström (Sweden) The jury has selected the following composers and pieces as honourable mentions: Lamentations - John Young (New Zealand/UK) Le temps d'un rivage - Gaël Tissot (France) Hooks - Roeland Luyten (Belgium) Forme, image, musique - Daniel Perez Hajdu (Belgium) 2261 Mario Mary (Argentina/France) TOC Clément Parmentier (Belgium) The jury has also selected one of the applicant's pieces as an imposed piece for the Spacialization Competition Espace du Son to take place also during the festival. The chosen piece was Labyrinth by Robert Ratcliffe (UK).
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsMusiques et Recherches

Awarded at event

Event titleMetamorphoses International Composition Competition
LocationThéâtre Marni, Brussels, Brussels, BelgiumShow on map
Period20 Oct 2010 → 24 Oct 2010


  • acousmatic
  • composition
  • competition
  • electroacoustic
  • music
  • fixed-medium